One Last Sunrise

Hey friends!

I can’t believe it’s already December! We’ve had some pretty cold mornings lately. I’ve already had to scrape frost off my car and once I even had to pour some salt on my porch! With the cold weather approaching, I knew that I had to go on my last hike of 2016.

Last weekend we had pretty decent weather in the morning and I wanted to take advantage of it before it was too late. Nick and I planned to hike up Mount Nemo and watch the sunrise. The night before our hike, we went to the grocery store and picked up some instant coffee, Tim Tams, salami, cheese, and crackers. We packed a backpack with our breakfast essentials along with water bottles, mugs and a small portable camping stove. Before heading to bed, we set our alarms for 5:15AM.

I don’t know how we were able to wake up to our alarms and get ready for our hike the next morning, but I’m so glad we did! All bundled up, we parked our car and set off for our hike. Being that it was before sunrise, it was pretty hard to see the path and where we were going. But soon enough, the sky began to brighten through the clouds. Once it started to get brighter, we knew that the sunrise was close so we sped walk right to a spot on the edge of the cliff. Although my legs weren’t too happy with the shin splints I got from speed walking on rough terrain, I couldn’t care less. We made it to the edge of the cliff just in time to see the sunrise! It was absolutely amazing! The leaves on the trees were still in the middle of changing colours so the light from the sunrise hit them so beautifully. Right after we watched the sunrise, we set up for our little breakfast and enjoyed the view.

I am so glad that I was able to have one last hike before the end of this year. I love the thrill of being so high up a cliff knowing that I started right at the bottom. I also loved the clean, crisp air in the morning and the sound of nature undisturbed by noises of cars driving by. I already can’t wait until next Spring when I can go on another hike!

Who knows, I might even find time in the Winter for a nice hike. I guess we’ll have to wait and see what Mother Nature has in store for the season!

Xo.*

Leave a Reply

